Metaphor

in #poetry7 years ago

Sometimes my mind gets ahead of me.

Sometimes my thoughts are a raging ocean I can't control.

There are so many things in this world.

All of them vying for my attention.

All screaming my name until my ears are bleeding rivers.

They block out my sight and crowd my vision.

Some people can't see the forest for the trees,

But I can't see life for the distractions.

Some nights I lie awake and ponder, 

What would it be like to silence those voices.

To clear the trees.

But then again, it wouldn't be a forest,

If it were silent and barren.

Maybe i'm writing down my thoughts,

Because they're too loud. 

Or writing away my issues,

Because they finally caught up to me. 

Or maybe these words don't exist at all.

Maybe they're just similes and metaphors 

Built on a whole lot of nothing.


Written by: Sarah Anne Bourgeois  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56577.01
ETH 2981.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14