WILD

in #poetry8 years ago

I will stand and live.
I will own this body
and the story it tells.
I will own its thickness
and the fine print inside.
I know my emotions run deep,
and there are places in me as dark as the undiscovered seas.
I do not mistake this place as evil.
I do not search for the light,
I know it is not there.
There are places in my body that reflect the black of night,
that remember all the deaths I've risen from.
When you honor the darkness inside of you,
you will stand in power.
No midnight sky will ever scare you,
and you will be able to sit with integrity and respect
in the face of the Yaga that commands your fear.
Eyes of blood,
touch cold as ice.
She will call you her child.
And you will stand up and tell her you are ready
to run in the darkness,
and jump into the bottomless ocean.
You will stand up and tell her that you are ready
to be wild.


photo from: https://sites.psu.edu/tetirclblog/2015/03/30/baba-yaga/comment-page-1/

The Baba Yaga is a mythological representation of the Life/Death/Life Mother within every woman that she must learn to embrace. By doing this, we are able to live accordingly to our intuitive, innate, wild and instinctual natures. We learn to accept and act through our power, thus honoring the deepest and most truthful part of our immensely complex souls and selves. Tales of the Baba Yaga vary from culture to culture, but this poem in particular is inspired the story of Vasalisa and her encounter with the Baba Yaga as told by Clarissa Pinkola Estes in "Women Who Run With Wolves." Hope you enjoy, check out some more of my poetry or give me a follow @dannywolf ! Much love to you all, aho mitakuye oyasin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55