ScarssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago

What healed me,
is healing me still.
I give my prayer to the embers
of the Fire,
trust the source to burn away my vices-
I see the flames move darkness
like a dance,
turning misguided steps into a fluid wave.
Spark kiss my skin,
and I learn from their touch again and again.
The trees speak the language of the fire,
they know they give their life for its flame.
They sway and sing along to its
Witching Hour lullaby-
a subtle hummmm …
the whisper of a light breath that feels like
warm summer wind on your skin.
Within the Fire
a single heart beats,
and breathes Spirit.
The flames play softly with the black sky backdrop.
With passion and poise,
pain is smoldered by the love of their light.

The Fire graced me with a permanence.
I now turn to it for power and guidance,
and gaze to my hands and heart
whenever I need a reminder of it's presence.

This photo was taken about a year after I got burned. I posted it on both Facebook and instagram with positive intentions, and a heartfelt message about self love. On both sites, the photo was removed because of "inappropriate content" (aka my breasts). I hope that the progressive minds and hearts of the people on this site can see deeper into this poem and this picture to its true meaning, and not react in such a way as to sexualize the content of this photo. This photograph is not for me to show anything off…after all my left breast doesn't have much to show but scars. It is for me to be able to recall the progression and healing of my scars and my body, so in 15 years, when the scars may be virtually gone, I can remember where I came from. I have developed an extremely deep and loving relationship with my scars, and I acknowledge them as the best part of my physical body. They are constant reminders of one of the most, if not the most, significant and spiritual experiences of my life. I will forever cherish how they define me, and tell a beautiful story. Love yourself today and everyday hereafter. Aho mitakuye oyasin.

Sort:  

Powerful, and very brave to post that picture.

upvoted and followed.

Much love. Thank you !

Our scars define us (yes I have a few of my own). They are part of our story. Thanks for sharing this part of yours.

That they do, in a beautiful way. Thanks is mine, your comment is so appreciated.

I am glad you can come here and not be censored.

As am I , it is a beautiful blessing. Thank you!

Strength to you in your forward journey.

Thank you so much, I appreciate your words. Same for you, friend.

Your openness is beautiful. Glad you are here and glad Steemit is here for us all in this way. Following.

Thank you so much. I am glad too :) very blessed for this community, and people like you!

Beautiful message, you are a warrior!

Deep gratitude for your kind words :) can't say thank you enough

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55