Rain

in #poetry8 years ago

The rain will never be the same again,
every drop,
pieces of my body
falling from the sky,
telling me the story of how I came to be.
The months I spent becoming,
I once was only water.
It will always fall with purpose now,
reminding me to pray.
A single drop,
my spirit falling from the sky,
dancing its way down to the tallest tree top.
There, I learned what it meant to nourish a life.
Slowly I will trickle
down the trunk of Cedar
and great Oak trees.
It will be my time someday
to bring water back to the Earth,
back to my first womb,
to seep into the ground,
to finish my cycle.
And when the sky is ready again to embrace me,
and let me fall into another journey,
I will return
from the depths,
and begin again~
a new drop
that will fall with deeper purpose,
that will bring life from Creator
back to all its children.
Maybe I will be so blessed
as to fall upon the wing of an Eagle,
carry its medicine,
and return,
thank again the sweet ground for taking me in
before it is time to begin my fall again.


image from:http://www.jennwiniarski.com/dont-weather-the-storm-chase-it/
(awesome blog post, recommend checking it out!)

I wrote this poem the first day the rain fell again after I completed my first Vision Quest. A Vision Quest in a Native American right of passage where you're placed by yourself in nature for 4 days and 3/4 nights with no food or water, and you pray and cry for a vision to help you confirm your life's path. It rained on and off every day of my Vision Quest, and so rain will never be the same for me again. It is now a reminder of the days I spent on that hill, which changed my life in ways that can not accurately or adequately be put into words. I hope you all enjoy, and will maybe look at rain a little differently now. Thanks for reading, Aho mitakuye oyasin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54