Make A Wish

in #poetry6 years ago

It's terrifying to let people in our lives. I admit that I'm actually one of those people who are scared of letting others in. But on this same month, two years ago, 2 of my friends surprised me on my birthday. It was the first time that I felt genuine love and care from my friends that it opened my eyes to the possibility that this could be the moment I have been waiting for - that finally, I could get to have friends who would be there for me 'till the end of time, and that I could trust them wholeheartedly. So I wrote this poem for them two years ago and decided to share this today with my fellow Steemians.


images (1).jpeg

Make A Wish

It's terrifying to let people in
To let them see the depths you are in
Mask the sadness, laugh the pain away
That's what I tell myself every single day

But today isn't one of those days
For today, I could finally say
Maybe it's not so bad to give it a try
This time, I won't let this moment pass me by

Make a wish, they said to me
As I stare at the candles flickering
I looked up to meet their eyes full of glee
That's when the pressure started to creep up inside of me

What to wish for, what to wish for
I asked myself over and over again
Trying to hold back the tears
Upon realizing my wish was one of the things that I fear

Don't you cry Dann, don't you cry
This time, nobody's saying goodbye
This isn't a dream, this is reality
Now make a wish and count to three

I closed my eyes and counted... 'One, two, three'
I opened my eyes to see them still there - staring right back at me
I suddenly felt this warm feeling deep inside
The kind of feeling that I no longer wanted to hide

So I guess this is it
I've got a feeling this'll be worth it
It may be quite weird for the both of you
But this is my way of saying thank you

©DanneseMarie 2016


Thank you for taking the time to read my post! I hope I got to tickle your emotions with this poem of mine, and I also hope that there'd be others out there who could also relate to what I've written and could actually inspire them to try and look for those right people to share their everyday moments with.

Picture was taken from: http://alliswall.com/birthday/chocolate_birthday_cake_and_candles_hd

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This is quite touching @dannese.

Looking forward to seeing more of this beautiful piece from you.

Thank you so much! 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by DanneseMarie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93