Poem: Moments

in #poetry2 years ago

MomentsHeader.jpg

Moments

Moments of memory, preserved, significant.

Facing the sea in a chill, strong wind
On the campus of a college I’ll never attend
The interview holds no tension when I’ve already decided.

On a house-hunting trip with my parents
Who want to move from my childhood home
The hot, dry air wraps like a blanket
In a dark, low-ceilinged kitchen surrounded by stone
A hint of the Old World, or something older than that
I don’t think we’ll live here, but in its strangeness I wouldn’t refuse.

Walking from the dining hall back to McCormick
A downpour of rain, but I’m not caught in it, I love it
The rest melts away. Homework? Exams? But I remember the rain.

My mind tells a story with these snapshots
But what?
What does it say that it can’t say with words?
I think these moments might be pivots
Not about paths taken or not
But times when I could be unencumbered by the past
Moments that seemed otherworldly
Because they stepped outside my narrow world

Does this mean I am ready for something new?
It would be an easier poem if the answer was “yes”
A simple doorway to step through
My instincts say it may be, partly
But also it’s not as simple as that.



This is a poem I wrote several weeks ago while contemplating some memories that seemed to be popping up in my mind, to try to see if I could figure out what my subconscious mind was trying to communicate by bringing them up.

(header image is cropped from this image from Pixabay)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79