Awake (original poem)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Still awake in the latest hour,

breathin' deep while the rest of the world goes sour,

sleeping in their time wasting sleep,

dreamin' in their unconscious state so deep!

I will not waste time, I will not bow!

Won't taste what can't be tasted;

time runs fast so I need to be faster,

don't have enough time to let it be wasted!

So I watch my own words

as they float in a cloud of smoke,

I watch them disappear

under time's invisible cloak...

I watch my own words so they cannot drown me,

speakin' so loudly into the unfading night!

I write them down as you read this

so for an eternity they will represent my might!

I try not to let time overwhelm me,

I try not to feel sad and old...

and as time passes by all around me

my words of wisdom forever shall be told!!!

I know that someday, somehow, time will catch up on me

and I don't plan to live forever in this form

but through words and thoughts I speak so freely

I'll exist forever and WILL BE REBORN!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51