The Chimney - Photo & Poem

in #poetry7 years ago

The chimney in my photo below stands out in the woods near my house on what used to be a farm, but now is on park property. My monochrome edit of the photo had such a mood that it inspired me to try some verse to add to the posting. I’m not a poet by any means, but this community allows you to be as creative as you feel moved to be, so here goes.

The Chimney

Formed with hands of men
From Mother Nature’s clay and shale
Heat gave me strength
To serve my household well

Young eyes read by my light
Cast iron pots felt my glow
My hearth a place to gather
In this farmstead bungalow.

I provided comfort and warmth
With decades of daily fire
Trees consumed from woods close by
Coals tended until they tire.

Today I stand alone
My home’s remains return to soil
Countless seasons past
Of hearth not warm, but cold

Not seeking sweet revenge
The trees gather closer around
Their branches reach for sky above
As Mother Nature reclaims her ground.

48C91AD6-AEA3-45C6-A51D-41D578B569D4.jpeg

Since it’s Monday, consider this my contribution to @old-guy-photos #monochromemonday.

3FE098EC-9AA9-4FA3-B1C6-BB35E66FBAB3.jpeg

Sort:  

This was done absolutely brilliantly! First off, the image is stunning with the waves of bricks floundering in the wind.

The edit totally rocks.

And the poetry goes with it so well, I would never have known you didn't write if for a living. You did well. You really did.

Great stuff @dabeckster! When I metal detect old home sites, these are where my thoughts go too. Imagining all of the things that once happened here. I liked your poem!

I’m glad you enjoyed it.

I love the photo and edit, I also love that Steemit brings out thing sin us we normally wouldn't do, great poetry to go with this image

ladt thing standing after a fire ive built a few in my time as a bricky

What a very cool chimney. Great photo. You may not be a poet but it sure sounded great to me.

Thank you for the beautiful poem and a very impressive picture!

Thank you for your kind words.

Nice work capturing the mood of the photo into your poem. The two go very well together.

Thanks. It really was the look of the photo that made me try to capture it in verse. I’m glad I succeeded.

Well done. The photo is wonderful. The poem touched my imagination. Thanks!

I’m glad you enjoyed them!

The photo goes great with your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55