Watching them gaze through time [Day 10]

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Watching them gaze through time

original poetry & photomanipulations


blend-eye-camera-lens-old-photos.jpg


While a child, still
Relatively unacquainted with
The machinations of the world
& its long sojourns through time

One holds a slight perplexity
Where regards that
Faraway look
Seen in elders' eyes

(Though suspecting it to be
Some kind of spagyric.)

When they speak of those
Of whom they were
Especially fond

Who, as it so happened,
Made their sloping way

Down or up some
Dimensional tube

The intuition of a dull ache,
Sharp vision of an inner place missing.

That look, an exuberant lament
& the beacon of some
mute triumph

It seems an
Interdimensional telescope
To peer past the atmosphere

Or a quantum microscope
For piercing the cell walls
Of space & time.

Either way, from youth's
Cornucopia coiled to spring
Into sunsets & fireflies

Still evergreen in this
Preparatory crouch, it is
Natural to pause & revel at

That faraway look &
What it may signify
When it appears
In elders' eyes.


blend-photo-albums-complements.jpg


blend-photo-albums-complements 3.jpgblend-photo-albums-complements 2.jpg

Writing & images
By @d-pend
3/16/18

.
Images created by
Digital manipulation
Of public domain images.

.
Join us at
Steemit school
Discord at this link!

neg.jpgneg2.jpg


woodface 4.jpg


Sort:  

very deep sense
it seems to me I have caught your idea, and these thoughts of time, age and wisdom are very close to me, and they are even a part of me, that's why I love loneliness and silence when nothings disturbs me from such thoughts
when I've come to your blog, I try to find rare minutes of silence and calmness to read your works because they can be fully understood only in special mood and conditions.

Nice job

Totally beautiful @d-pend.

youth's
Cornucopia

In elders' eyes

This is not a small thought but a reflection on the passage of life and time and history.

George: What is it you want, Mary? What do you want? You want the moon? Just say the word and I'll throw a lasso around it and pull it down. Hey. That's a pretty good idea. I'll give you the moon, Mary.
Mary: I'll take it. Then what?
George: Well, then you could swallow it, and it'd all dissolve, see? And the moonbeams'd shoot out of your fingers and your toes, and the ends of your hair... Am I talking too much?
Old Man: Yes! Why don't you kiss her instead of talking her to death?
George: How's that?
Old Man: Why don't you kiss her instead of talking her to death?
George: Want me to kiss her, huh?
Old Man: Ah, youth is wasted on the wrong people!

(It's a Wonderful Life)

Always a pleasure to read your poems.

@mineopoly
mining the heart once more

We are gazing in the space of time, we look at the fate of the fallen angels - where we lost ourselves in an unknown space. You have eyes of mysticism and knowledge from other planets, these words bring fire to my watery heart. Find deeper reasons for failure in your victory, realize your dreams on the tops of the heavenly mountains.

Thank you my friend , one and only @d-pend

A most excellent and eloquent write. I do not know what elders see when the focus shifts. Perhaps they are listening and feeling, rather than seeing. As one sense weakens, they say other strengthen. I like from time to time stop my own thoughts and listen. I believe there is learning here. Often the approach I take to writing poetry too:)

I really enjoyed your break down of the intent behind this poem that you shared in class. I wasn't able to actually read it then but just to listen to it, but now that I've taken a moment to stop and read it just made the poem come alive knowing where it came from.

Hmm, I felt the pace, I love this one. Thank you @d-pend.

Elders know what we will.
Your description of the moment you realize the enigma is tenderly clever; its tone evokes an ancient wisdom, I guess due to the metaphor of the “faraway look… in the elder’s eyes,” which I particularly interpret as the ultimate understanding of the merging root of all.
Quite a piece, @d-pend; no doubt you know what you're doing. Thanks.

That reminded me of one of the most poetic lines I've seen in TV and in literature. From Games of Thrones and A Song of Ice and Fire:

"Egg... I dreamed that I was old."

Egg was a term of endearment that Aimon Targarien used with his brother Aegon. The line was said by Maister Aimon (a centenarian I believe) when talking "nonsense" on his dead bed.

main-qimg-f0df69e3f637737894c7100b2d3ae609.png
Image property of HBO.

I really wonder how you sit and write these poems, what is the thought pattern......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78