Walking, reflect on the cuspsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry5 years ago

Walking, reflect on the cusp

.
poem & images
by @d-pend
.


IMG_0248.jpeg


Walking, reflect on the cusp

Syllables wish to discover their nooks
as rooks to find fresh ears
perch on poplar or alms or books
or siphon from mendicant-leers.

I found the arachno-cube, a diamond
of scalding fluorescent tears;
raccoons in the bin, the wind
rendered me wordless, devoid of fears.

An eerieness of the newly born
was washed upon my eyes;
how frequently we curse and scorn
beneath the garnet skies!
And make as if to build, but rend
the tendril-looming cloud—
and make as if to guild, but send
a prog'ny rugged-proud
to chase the rook, and the moth,
and the bat and dove alike.
E'en the meek become wroth
before the wide-berthèd pike.

Lineaments to plunder:
geometries to seize
until the king is rent asunder
with the rook upon his eaves.

(originally written
April 30th, 2019)


IMG_0270.jpeg


IMG_0270 2.jpeg


.......
poem and images
by @d-pend
5/20/19
...


IMG_0270 3.jpeg


IMG_0249.jpeg


Notes

This is another poem that I wrote a fair time ago and neglected to share. I actually wrote it after taking about a 10 day break from writing (which is pretty long for me) so it has that interesting semi-awkward, semi-refreshing feel that often seems to manifest after a substantial hiatus in a previously-regularly-practiced art form.

It was written late at night when I was in a nocturnal phase. I had just explored the walking paths near my new apartment next to the dense creek verdant-twinings, foremost of which (to the senses) was certainly the seductively cloying Japanese Honeysuckle in full bloom, which is considered an invasive species due to its tenacity. It smells absolutely delicious in a slightly uncomfortable sort of way.

I had walked all the way to the nearby manmade lake, where I found the most spiderweb-infested, bizarre gazebo I can remember. (You might want to skip this paragraph if you don't like spiders.) Webs with quite large spiders were everywhere around the upper perimeter of the roof, clustered around piercing fluorescent lights and lightly swaying in the warm midnight breeze. The lonely picnic bench in the middle was directly underneath a recessed rectangular prism with a very bright light above. Appearing from below like some otherworldly cubic diamond of spidersilk, it was an eerie sight.

I did not take any camera with me or I would have likely attempted to capture the scene, but I've had no strong wish to return there. I remember there was a desire to write something about the experience and I had a pad of paper with me. As soon as I took it out with a sharp pencil I just stared at that empty grid hopelessly. The utter inadequacy of verbal technology smiled at me from those yellow and blue lines, and I quickly returned it to my backpack before walking home.

Later that night following a short meditation, this piece spilled out. The sky really was garnet that night: a sickly greenish-red, choked with yearning fingers of smoke desperately grasping for some kind of redemption for humanity—and burning with the triumph of ignorant particles destined to disperse.

IMG_0255.jpeg

Sort:  

I like the word "prog'ny" as i have never seen progeny written this way.

At first I thought these were notes you took while hiking. Now I see it is even more sublime.

Your meditation leads to the king. I thought this poem was about rocks until you mentioned the webs. I remember you wrote two or three poems about webs.

Thank you for sharing...

and why is the industrial fan picture here at the bottom?

I really like the old convention of using an apostrophe to be clear about pronunciation. I think it is not used as much these days because most poets write so-called "free verse" and are not so fussy about syllables being rhythmic.

Thanks for sharing your impressions on the poem before seeing the end note. It seems there is merit in both leaving some mystery and adding the story. I like the dynamic of letting people interpret things their own way without giving any background, while at the same time it's nice to invite people to come along on my journey more explicitly.

Spiders are incredibly beautiful creatures to me. Their webs are like diamond artifacts. (Sorry @quillfire, ha!) Of course, one can't help but feel a slight instinctive repulsion to any creature that appears so radically different than one's own physical vessel. I think that push and pull is interesting.

Good question about the fan. Somehow I felt like it fit... both the red/green themed color scheme, and the pondering about mankind's relationship with toxicity, especially where technology and culture are concerned.

Have a blessed day my friend.

@d-pend,

Spiders ... arrrgh. I don't know why you can't be normal and write a poem about a dog ... Man's Best Friend. Or a horse.

I'm warning you upfront: If you ever get around to an "Ode To A Cockroach," I'm not upvoting no matter how creative the construction. :-)

Quill

Lineaments to plunder:
geometries to seize
until the king is rent asunder
with the rook upon his eaves

Loving the imagery and double entendre found in this somewhat eerie and disturbing piece. Hard to tell where the real fear lies. Fantastic work:)

I love spiders; always share! The fierce energy you capture in this reminds me of a night time, Indiana windstorm.

Hi @d-pend!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.450 which ranks you at #691 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 693).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 184 contributions, your post is ranked at #106.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@d-pend,

Dan, beautiful poem. You've gotten VERY good at writing verse. I wish I'd kept my mouth shut. You are now a damnably formidable competitor. :-)

Respecting your verse, I would, without hesitation, employ the word "Masterful" ... and vigorously defend such usage against any critic who dared challenge the assertion. You've earned it, mate.

!BEER

Quill

Excellent! Poetry masterful! I like those delicate suggestions, those translucent images that you can see at the bottom of the pond. The weaving of words is very sonorous and impeccable like what it tries to reflect, a web of ideas and emotions.
that you wish to share.
I love this thread:

Lineaments to plunder:
geometries to seize
until the king is rent asunder
with the rook upon his eaves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85