Sunstruck

in #poetry6 years ago

Sunstruck

original poetry by @d-pend


1200_mg_0531_by_florentcourty-dak679u 2.jpg


redneg.jpg


Sunstruck


Expiring on the precipice
Where warm sunstreams redden—
Beckoned by sunset swan
bearing autumn:
in its talons.

Clove wind, cinnamon branches,
Ill labor of fading surety.

Pollen tines the bonfire smoke,
blurs the mantle's brow.

Sea-straw under cabins,
Mineral kiss of gulls.

Gold from dirt distilled,
Tumbled dry in wintry shoals.

Night has mummified me
And morning paid respects;
I watch in mind unmoving
The reddening, heav'n-flecked.

I see the scenes entangled,
And breathe th'prismatic air—
of sea and mount and flatland,
who morph and soul ensnare.


redneg2.jpg


our_sun_by_ahermin.jpg


blue sunstream 2.jpg


Original poetry
Written by @d-pend
On 8/13/18

.
Image credits:
.
    "Illumination" by FlorentCourty [cropped]
.
    "Our Sun" by Ahermin
.
    "Ephemeral Red" by FlorentCourty
.


blue sunstream 3.jpg


fb_mg_9791_by_florentcourty-d62ct17 (1).jpg


redneg.jpg


Sort:  

I share with fellow readers the feeling of being awestruck by both the sunset itself and what you've done with it through your poetry and the images.
I got stuck at the 2nd picture and it occurs to me that that picture encapsulates one of the main ideas in the poem: the idea of nature and the beauty it makes us perceive as phantasmagoria, a mirage, similar to the effect of those fingers holding the sun.

The sunset itself is deceiving. I had a friend in college who used to invite me watch sunsets from the 4th floor of a building (the UDO-Cumaná campus is across the sea, already on a 100mts high hill). We had the best seats in the house, as they say. And she used to call me saying, run it is drowning! (the first time it scared the hell out of me. I thought someone was actually drowning).

The point is that sunsets can be illusions in so many ways. It's a temporary death that will be followed by a resurrection and i think that the word choice in the poem aims in that direction.

The idea of death, even if spurious, is as dramatic as death in the theater. And it is staged throughout the poem up to the final dramatic mummification of the spectators themselves.
We have words like expiring, fading, blurs, mummified, unmoving, and ensnare all wrapped up by fading surety, thus reinforcing the idea of the illusion.

I see the scenes entangled,
And breathe th'prismatic air—
of sea and mount and flatland,
who morph and soul ensnare.

"Unbearably" beautiful sensation of penetrating with the soul, the twilight. Contemplation allows vibrating in the colors of the sky and its contrasts . I think the reference to "soul ensnare" in that moment of perfection seems great. I love this inspiration. Excellent translation of feelings, @d-pend.

  • @d-pend Beautiful friend when you say quality running sunshine that reddens. I imagine it as the beginning of some important event in life. The image of that ray of sunshine is breathtaking and wonderful. I melt with these beautiful stanzas. The images are spectacular and call for the positive. Thank you, happy night, dear friend.

I particularly enjoyed this line 'Clove wind, cinnamon branches' of your poem. It conjured up thoughts of a secluded mountainside meadow, lost in time since the middle ages, and ff blood shed battles soaked in tales of old.
Brilliant work @d-pend
Thanks again
Darren

Musician and Singer-Songwriter from the UK.
@darrenclaxton

This is amazingly written. mind refresh now! I absolutely love your word when you say Night has mummified me; and morning paid respects, i love those words.

I think you do justice to the beauty of the nature with your words. :)

"And breathe th'prismatic air—" Great line.

Love. It felt like a falling raindrop scatter on a trembling leaf then roll of its tip in a cascade of pearls.

I am absolutely sure you must think me as a stalker now. If not, then surely I finish reading all of your works, but for the time being: I absolutely love this!

Not at all, I'm flattered that you find my work of value; honored by the fact you'd take time to read it. Thank you @yueres and feel free to stop by anytime!

P.S. I also love to hear thoughts/impressions of my poetry and music, so don't be shy to leave feedback :-P

It is a beautiful work of poetry as always writing things that represent the feelings of the soul thank you for sharing with us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44