"Regret About The Past"---original poem (with drawing by @romanskv)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Regret About The Past


Original poem inspired by this drawing by @romanskv by the same name.
Check out the original post here and support great original art on Steemit.
Regret-about-the-past-romanskv.jpeg


Stricken with sudden epileptic awareness,
Slapped by his own cruel conscience
Breath is forced from the man
With head in hands.

The strobing memories flicker in a cloud,
Tormentuous mosquitoes which sap strength &

Pollute the blood with guilty fingers.

His heart began accelerating
Like a crusty old soot-stained black train.
Steam tunneled through pulmonary sacs & blue veins
Reaching the epidermis & soaking his work shirt.
He stopped breathing briefly.

“If only!” cawed the crow of thought,
“I could have” sang the swallow.
“And If I hadn’t” rang the jay,
“I would have” cooed the dove.

But the chorus shut up
When they heard the strained squawk
Of an insistent chair. It was made of ancient wood and
It grumbled complaints about his shifting weight.

Then and there, as if from a trance or dream,
The squeak of his seat became a scream
Which jolted him & a pickle flew out
Of the ham sandwich he held in
His left hand half-eaten.

A drop of mayonnaise dripped on the grey table
Which he wiped with a cream-colored handkerchief.
An analog clock glared at him in his ruffled suit pants.
He swallowed ham & cheese & regret in fourteen bites
And went back to his cubicle with hands in his pockets.

Regret-about-the-past-romanskv.jpeg

Poem by Daniel Pendergraft @d-pend on 7/13/17
Drawing created by @romanskv, posted on 7/8/17

Here's a link to the original post of the drawing "Regret About The Past"

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Thank you for reading! Definitely go check out @romanskv, he is an awesome artist with a unique style! I really appreciate him letting me use his work for the inspiration of this piece.

*

Do you experience a lot of regret about the past? Or did you at some point? If so, how did you move through it? Let me know in the comments below :)

Sort:  

Sorry that my English is bad
and I cannot fully appreciate this poem,
only the Google translator gives me gibberish,
but I believe that everything is fine no matter what.....

 )))

No problem, because I can't speak Russian at all! Thanks for your invite to the art group :)

D-pend, I loved this poem for the meaning and also the humor of a pickle dropping out of his sandwich after the squeak. Unfortunately we all have moments when we trace back to old times and regret or wonder, if things would have been different or better. I guess it is human nature to get trapped by our past. The main thing is, we all have to find acceptance of what was and see what we learned from it and then move forward. This is the way to finding inner peace and to becoming.

You are an amazing person who I see is growing toward a higher level of existence. I can sense that there is more belief in yourself and a freer sort of essence about you. I bet if you let loose, you will draw an amazing picture one day. I can't wait!......Cabbagepatch

Epic! lol 😑 😯 😦

Thanks for contributing to the One Human Basket! 😃


I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge

'Twas a bit random, I know, thanks @robyneggs :D

i like your post my friend

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by d-pend from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Yes and No: Yes because it is inevitable, but how long your regret lasts is not.

Interesting read, Will be looking forward to your posts.

Up-voted :-)

RightWithin

Nice poem.

"Then and there, as if from a trance or dream,
The squeak of his seat became a scream..."

I really loved this line :) I follow you now <3

Thank you so much!! I was laughing when I wrote that line. I pictured this nervous guy at work becoming so worried and distracted about the past that he forgot what he was doing :)

I appreciate the support, I also follow you for your great art <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97