June Honey-Wine (original poem)

in #poetry5 years ago

IMG_5132.jpeg


June Honey-Wine

May keeps moving further
towards the zenith of the year;
and still her gleaming crown
remains a gem without a peer.

Ruby of the rosined moon,
thy amber torch but fades too soon.
At but a glance, thy sunny beams
warm-melt to thaw my chilléd streams.

I, the timeworn winter fool,
await eleven months to feel
the burning zeal of thy great school
awak'ning summer's easy weal.

***

Grass is verdant emerald light
tinged apricot by smooth sunset.
Loving cup o'erflowing bright,
spread cheer to every stranger met.

You blaze the fervent fire;
and I am there to raise it higher
until I nearly lose my mind
on the divine June honey-wine.

***

These months are days and years as weeks,
dim-shadowed blurs and brilliant streaks.
At but a blink we all are aged,
transmuted dirt, wise ones presaged.

New friends are silver; you are gold.
Though we scarely meet, the wind has told
the birds to tell me that you're always fine.
Please remember to remember, love—
that honey-wine.

***

The sky is blue as distant memory
a-passing through somebody's dream
who can't be sure if matters went
the way that they did seem.

You ever blaze the fire;
we both are there to raise it higher.
Surely, then, I lose my mind
on the divine June honey-wine.


IMG_0628.jpeg


Notes

This poem has a somewhat fascinating origin. I wonder if anyone could guess it? (Though to be fair, it's sort of like asking "I wonder if anyone could guess what clothes I wore the Thursday before last.") Actually, if you know me, it's a significantly better chance than guessing my wardrobe. OK, I'll give a hint. Before being a poem it was something else. And before that, it was something else still. And yes, the answer will be made clear... all in good time ;-)


Dan/@d-pend
June 4th, 2019

all images and writing in this post created by yours truly
pictures taken at the Heard Museum grounds in McKinney, TX


IMG_0091.jpeg

Sort:  

I really enjoyed this poem -can't wait to hear about your inspiration and origin of this poem!

@d-pend,

Wonderful poem. It never occurred to me to write a poem about the months ... in retrospect, an obvious oversight. There's a potential, and compelling, story in each.

OK, I'll give a hint. Before being a poem it was something else. And before that, it was something else still. And yes, the answer will be made clear... all in good time ;-)

Dan, these are the very definitions of "crappy clues."

"Before it was a poem it was ... a song. And before that, I'll bet it was an encrypted recipe for making Eggs Benedict with Dan's signature Hollandaise Sauce."

You are a terrible hinter.

Indeed, one would have to be "prophetic" ... which, perhaps, "hints" at an explanation (check the comments):

https://steemit.com/poetry/@d-pend/take-care-an-object-not-thyself-o-ercomes

Quill

The ambiguity of the clue implores the reader to return to the passage to recommit and submerge oneself into the layers of verse, at a deeper level. It appeals to the ego. Challenging you to be the clever critique that can see context between the lines...

@girlbeforemirror,

You're right. I guess I was just being defeatist. You have earned center-stage with your tenacity ... so, what was Dan's poem before it was a poem? And Marg ... no cheating ... I already guessed Eggs Benedict. :-)

Quill

Good post, good poems - good summer mood :)

Hi @d-pend!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.445 which ranks you at #705 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 696).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #95.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Aghh it's too late to resteem it now :/

At but a blink we all are aged,
transmuted dirt, wise ones presaged.

Oh yeah, remember how last June was?
btw did the answer come out yet? :D

Time passes so strangely... I can't tell if that feels like long ago, or but a blink :-)

No, I haven't come with the completion to this, yet. Not that I ever get distracted, ahem....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77