#PoetrySlam Daily 9 'Writer's Unblock'

in #poetry7 years ago

10413410_1548578215389158_4245945828496711788_n.jpg

Writer's Unblock
So I pulled out my pen
And I tried to begin,
To open my soul
And let my heart flow,
But with a big sigh
My effort was met with a, "Why?"
'Cause nothing was there,
Ha, indeed my page was still bare,
I knew my day had been long
Although nothing was wrong,
Within me was still a song
But my brain was like ping pong,
See, I was not really calm
I needed a mental balm,
So I began to breathe and clear my mind
With no thing, no one, no place to find,
Breathing in and breathing out
Simply smiling, impossible to pout,
And in a while the stress had faded
My mind was clear, no longer jaded,
So once again I pulled out my pen
And once again I began to begin
And this is what appeared on my page,
"You can learn anything at any age!"
What, What do you mean?
"You've been saying, "I can't" is what I've seen,
Oh wow, I really did have to admit
I had been unwilling to fully commit,
The excuse I use everyday
Is in the very words I say,
I saw the words float by my face
They were moving at a very fast pace,
"Can't", "Not techy", "Too busy", "Too old"
Then I said, "Stop, put those negatives on hold!",
My mind is clear,
I have no fear,
I am not too old,
My age is Gold,
I can learn what I need
Whenever I pay heed
To the positive part
Of my positive heart
And that is, "I can!!!"
And that is who...
I really am

Love, Cheryl

Sort:  

You go Cheryl! You are truly masterful at your craft and I enjoy your creativity! Many blessings

Aww shucks, you are really too kind...but I like that about you!!! :)

Good work on this =)
This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

Thanks @chelsea88 !! You have been so supportive and informative and it is greatly appreciated. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57