War and Children

in #poetry7 years ago

FARC-child-soldiers.jpg


I wake up to the short chirps of birds,
He wakes up to gunfire and terror.

I go to school with no fear,
He goes to school in fear of the secret.

I speak my mind freely at recess,
He keeps it quiet hoping not to let anything out.

I think about what my parents are doing,
He is hoping to see his parents when he gets home.

When I get home I start conversation,
When he gets home there is complete silence.

I play X-box to relax with my brother,
He hopes that nobody tells their secret.

I go to bed hoping for an amazing new day,
He goes to sleep hoping to be alive in the morning.

The reality of those children facing war.Say No to War.

photo credits http://www.slaq.am

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55