You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE TASTE OF SMOKE

in #poetry7 years ago

I write 8-10

I wish I had your dedication. I can barely write for an hour before I get tired and the text starts to get dull and boring. If I write for longer, I almost always have to leave it dry up a bit, then come back after a while to rewrite most of it and add some emotion to the wording.

I do have a lot of time but I can't make myself use it for the things that I need to do. I'm bad at telling myself it's time to work. :(

Anyway, I hope that you succeed then in all the fields of your life :) I'm glad that you're still here sharing some lovely poems and stories with us. I love to read them and you've inspired me about some of the things that I've written or planned to write.

Sort:  

I hear what you're saying. Took me a long time to develop the stamina to write productively for long stretches. Mostly it happened when I started writing a novel that really took hold of me and I just worked and worked to be able to finish it. Now it has just become a habit, but it is something I really had to work at. You are a really good writer btw. You have a very unique style and a clear voice. There are some rough edges but that is something everyone has to work on. I hope that you keep writing because you have produced some really beautiful things.

One thing I had to do was get out of the physical place where I was living. Making a change in environment can really boost your productivity. At least it did for me.

I'll try that second thing out! I can't really leave the place I work at (since I only have one computer and one desk), but I'll make some changes to my environment. Perhaps changing clothes, trying out some isolation and timers. Dunno. There's a lot of things that I can try. Thanks for the tip!

And I feel very flattered that you find me to be a good writer :) I'll try my best to keep improving and producing.

One thing you can do is take a pad and pen to a coffee shop or park or somewhere that you don't usually write but that you feel comfortable and can concentrate. Maybe you can't do the bulk of the writing on a pad, but you can work on the structure and ideas like that, and then go to your computer when you have an outline or a real inspiration for what you want to do. Sometimes I will do that on a plane or train when I am traveling and it can work really well. By the time I get to the computer I already know where I want to go with it and it comes out pretty fast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62108.99
ETH 2429.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64