Forever a rose - Poem

in #poetry7 years ago

Written for a lovely young lady I was once in love with. We never quite hooked up despite my efforts. Sadly she passed away a few years ago so I wrote this poem as a final goodbye, help with closure and all that.

Forever A Rose

Giggles, laughs and cider in the park,
Memories we cherish through times light and dark,
Under 12's? Over 12's? Either will do,
Which park doesn't matter... what does, is you.

Manhunt, football, or even just sitting,
Beats hanging around in my parent's kitchen,
You fancy a mission? Let’s ride to Ipley...
The rope swing was great but ten mozzies bit me!

Alldays beams '8 Fosters for a fiver',
Old Magazine Lane breeds a champion diver!
Swimming in Maggie, camp fires on the island,
One day in the future... we'll all meet in Thailand.

For now pool and playstation down the Youth Club,
Marchwood, our home, our playground, our hub.
From the park to the pole, to the thinking log,
The space in between them, our central cog,

The hot or the cold, the weather's no issue,
For you here's my shades, else here's my tissue.
Here's to our friends, for so much we owe them,
Here's just to you, I wrote you a poem.

Caps, Reebok Classics and tracksuits with poppers,
Young, brave and innocent. Nothing can stop us.
The future it couldn't be more far away,
Grown up stuff sucks, we live for today.

Experiences over but timeless, we friends.
Question it not, for nothing depends.
Adrift though we go, we travel new lanes,
Life, death and beyond, the bond it remains.

Love never dies it only matures,
Even in resting our love is still yours.
The pain's setting in, the heartache now shows,
Though petals will wither, forever a rose

Sort:  

Wow this poem is wow , so awesome and from your heart . I am so sorry for your lost . : ) this is a tear eyes for sure : ) Thank you for sharing something so deep and personally . wishing you the best : ) I bet she is smiling down at you : )

I started following you . : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73