to gather, in passing [poetry // photos]

in #poetry7 years ago

crimsonclad-ih1.jpg

and when you see this brilliant turmoil, darling

with outstretched fingers

dare to approach; part the crush
extend an entreaty into the dim, and with trepidation
attempt to avoid those clinging snarls
and lingering doubts

crimsonclad-ih3.jpg

even though you know to try

is to become ensnared in soul in sinew
entangled, uncertain

keep pushing

when the radiance
builds to reflect the sun itself
pulling tears to the tips of your lashes;
or is it the searing trails
the thorns tear down your wrists

and when you withdraw

decorated
in lurid scratches, and gossamer robed
your hands overflowing with the light of the cosmos
and your breath ragged in exertion
anticipation, regret

each strand severed

each petal creased
each spur bloodied —
is this moment both as exquisite and as excruciating
as you never intended

crimsonclad-ih2.jpg

inspired by photos taken while snapping branches of fresh broom tumbling down the emerald hills of Ireland. Apparently my memories and my emotions are caught there this week. Be gentle; I dream in delicate, architectural poetry, but often express in disjointed prose.

These photos and words are all my own work, inspired by my travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️
crimsonclad.png



Hi, I'm Crimmi. I help run a top 30 Steemit witness, along with my project partner @followbtcnews. Feel free to reach out to us on Steemit Chat or Discord at any time! If we haven't earned your vote yet, please take some time to look at our tools and our work — place a vote for followbtcnews if you feel we're doing a good job.


Sort:  

imho you have really captured the essence of poetry; to talk of one thing and have it be perceived as applying to something else at a whole different level. said with passionate intensity, sensuality and abandon. disjointed prose be damned, this is hauntingly beautiful.

thank you so much. There are at least three solid facets I aimed for here, but I also think people will take whatever they need. Or, I hope, anyways. I found this way more nerve-wracking than radio.

Well-spoken 🙏🏼

I just found this.

"and when you withdraw
decorated
in lurid scratches, and gossamer robed
your hands overflowing with the light of the cosmos
and your breath ragged in exertion
anticipation, regret"

"each strand severed
each petal creased
each spur bloodied —
is this moment both as exquisite and as excruciating
as you never intended"

Sexeh!

I'll be in my bunk...

Wish I'd seen it in time to upvote it.

I didn't know you wrote poetry. I'm glad you do!

I have a few other pieces tucked away. I don't write tons on account of being a bit embarrassed to share it, but I'm hoping to keep working at it~ thank you! (and yes, there are some hella metaphors here)

❤❤❤❤ disjointed in the most beautiful way- it fits the emotion presented. Love your use of formatting to highlight specific images.

high praise from a poetry master... augh, I'm fangirling

AH. This is just lovely, Crim. Very stirring.

waghhhh, having all the writers emerge at once is overwhelming <3

LOLOLOL!!!!!

That's amazing, Crim. Beautifully written. <3

taking a stab at it~ it is my painting.

"each petal creased
each spur bloodied "...so poignant. Brava!

thank you so much. Coming away from the cliffs with an armful, I left some of myself behind quite literally, and ruined a lot of what I did collect. I think there's a beautiful lesson there.

www. when I read very fascinated myself as if my heart is stuck in the same poetry that you sing,
my life is flowering and grow so strong spirit,
do not know where it comes from

thanks, imamalkimas

You are welcome. whether you are a teacher of poetry

I hope this is just reflective art. The imagery is poignant.
My favorite poetic structure is assonance. I like the like "even though you know to try..."

I mentioned to another reader, but there are three facets to this poem that I had in mind, two of which are drawn from personal experience emotionally, and one physically (actually picking the flowers)

It's worth the risk to become entangled. We can fight or shake the madness away later.

Beautiful words @crimsonclad...can't wait to read the next.

thanks so much~ poetry is nervewracking for me, but worth it also.

I remember seeing Jack Black in an interview talking about writing something original and he said we have to keep the critics in our head at bay, that they're chirping in our ears always telling us we're not good enough - easier said than done. Probably the smartest thing I ever heard him say!

Very clever use of the spider webs in the pictures to enhance the "ensnared" in the Poetry. Inspiring poetry - is this developed from personal experiences?

I did put it out there... there are three facets to this poem that I had in mind. Two are drawn from personal experience emotionally, and one physically actually picking the flowers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74