What The Mermaid Said... An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago

“Like a mermaid in sea-weed, she dreams awake, trembling in her soft and chilly nest.”
– John Keats –



Table of Contents

What the mermaid said...
Image courtesy of Jeremy Bishop and http://unsplash.com



What The Mermaid Said...

~by Duncan Cary Palmer~
 
"I wish that you were here," she said,
'twas my first subtle clue.
"You'll do great."
"You'll be just fine,"
my mind, she eased anew.
 
Oceans apart, her breathless words,
"We're seeing the same moon!"
Via fine technology,
We shared our favorite tunes.
 
"You're the most romantic man I know."
Exactly what she said.
"You're a frickin' genius!"
— her very words —
still echo in my head.
 
"In a heartbeat" was her answer
to my "Would you, too?"
 
More than once, she asked of me,
"Why can't you be with me?"
She then opined, "I wouldn't mind
at all, were you to see..."
 
"I want you. Do you want me?"
"How do you like this dress?"
"A motorcycle ride? How grand!"
To my "Please?" she said "Yes!"
 
"Mal?" she asked. I said "Inara?"
Wouldn't that be fun!
"I love it when you call me "Babe."
"You made me fall in love!"
 
On this one point,
she kept insisting:
"Can't you turn back time?"
"Why won't you make that happen?"
Memories, like wine...
 
Though très content
I'd live with crumbs,
she promised:
"The entire banquet shall be yours."
 
Then,
suddenly,
she said no more.


Table of Contents

Suddenly, she said no more...
Image courtesy of Jeremy Bishop and http://unsplash.com



~FIN~


For more poetry, please visit our Library Poetry Shelf - Just CLICK the shelf below.


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Awesome poem! Inspired me to write an alternative ending.

Then,
suddenly,
she said no more....

Just her scaley tail,
waving stubbornly.
I sipped my russian tea.
I thought you were tryna kick it.....
Like Bruce Lee.
Comon baybee.
Play with me.
Double species discovery.

And she did....
We did.
Beastiality.

Thank you for taking the time to visit, read, and comment.

an amazing poem and a very good picture

Thank you.

so this explains why you go down to the sea :)

[He smiles slyly...]

Beautiful poem that imediatly inspire me to write a haiku:

You riding the wave,
mermaid trapped in the ocean
touched for a moment

Thank you so very much, my friend! Such a lovely haiku!

Increíble fotografía

Intriguing with a twist on the end. I like it! Thanks for sharing.

Thank you Troy.

Beautiful poem that imediatly inspire me to write a haiku:

You riding the wave,
mermaid trapped in the ocean
touched for a moment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43