"Weather or Not" ~ A Haiku by Duncan Cary Palmer

in #poetry6 years ago

"A change in the weather is sufficient to recreate the world and ourselves."
- Marcel Proust -


I'm a sucker for poetry contests.

Our friend, @vdux, is running a new haiku contest.

Another VDux Contest!

This time around, @vdux's challenge is to write a haiku about nature.


Table of Contents
Weather frustrates us.
Image courtesy of Derek Thomson and http://unsplash.com

One of nature's most prominent features is weather.

We are always surrounded by it. We discuss it endlessly. We watch news reports about it...

But, what can't we do?


Table of Contents
We can't seem to change it...
Image courtesy of Craig Whitehead and http://unsplash.com


Weather or Not

by Duncan Cary Palmer

Weather frustrates us.
We either love or hate it,
but we can't change it.



Table of Contents

Love It or Hate It
Image courtesy of Joshua K. Jackson and http://unsplash.com

We can't change the weather!


~FIN~



Table of Contents

Weather or Not!
Image courtesy of Sanketh and http://unsplash.com


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more haiku, limericks, and poems of many kinds,
please CLICK our Library Poetry Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

Dear @creatr, I am surprised by your way of presenting the post with all the excellent photographs that you have placed. Receive an affectionate hug.

Thank you, friend...

The photos in this post all come from http://unsplash.com, a wonderful place for public use photos!

Thank you very much for the information dear friend, did not know this site until today. For these details like yours, is that I am delighted to participate in steemit.

Seems we both wrote poems about the weather lately...feeling elemental, perhaps?

"Elemental, my dear Watson..." ;)

Sorry, just watched "Elementary" this evening, a TV series about Sherlock Holmes in NYC... ;)

Nice little Haiku there my friend, a lot captured in fourteen words..

Thank you! :D

Man, I love haikus! Short, precise and beautiful. You're totally right with this one

Truer words have never been spoken - just gotta run with it :)

Don't forget your rain gear... ;)

Ah the poetry shelf! How wonderful. Can I mention that in one of my future posts?

PS thank you for entering my contest! I posted a reply on the contest page https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/another-vdux-contest

"Can I mention that in one of my future posts?"

I would be honored.

Thanks for your contests! :D

::blushing::

Very cute. I can't change the weather but I can stay inside, close all the windows, and pretend unsettling weather doesn't exist. I usually hate weather like sun and love weather like blizzards.

I love thunderstorms... We don't get enough of them here in Southern Cali... ;)

That is a strong Haiku and i most enjoyed it whether or not others did. LOL. Blessings @creatr.

Thanks, Troy. :D

Oh the climate change folks are going to flag you LOL!!!

Hahahahahaha! :D

We are having a bit of weather here - summer thunderstorms are just breathtaking to enjoy.

I love thunderstorms, and miss them terribly here in So Cal... We have them only very rarely... less than once per year on average. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43