"Bittersweet Glimpses" - Revisited

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Memory Snapshots of The Lost Loves of My Early Life...

Memory is a funny thing... since writing this poem several months ago, I've remembered one more, rather significant, "lost love."

She must, of course, be added to this tale of beautiful, bittersweet memories...
Marilyn, my sweet, sweet singer, who should not have gone missing.

All Pretty Maids In A Row

All Pretty Maids In A Row
Photo courtesy of Greg Rakozy and http://unsplash.com


Bittersweet Glimpses

Gail-
Kindergarten
Girlfriend One.
Pigtailed,
Gap-toothed,
So much fun!

Jeanette-
My freckled tomboy daydream,
First love, unrequited...
Where is Jeanette now?
A lifetime since last sighted.

Becky-
Blond preacher's girl,
We strolled the beach
Toward Sandy Point,
One hand in each.
Love, short and sweet,
Now beyond reach.

Sharon-
A cycle ride into the hills,
Her arms surround me;
Simple thrills!
My arm around her,
Guavas sweet.
Plans: cast away,
Dreams: incomplete.

Going For A Ride

Going For A Ride
Photo courtesy of Abigail Keenan and http://unsplash.com

Anita-
Fellow student, B.B.C.
On a banquet date with me.
It went no further;
Worlds apart!
Different cultures,
No way to start.

Jill-
Chicago date;
See giant screen!
Her hand in mine,
Hear Lara's theme.
Tiny walnut jewelry box,
Formed with care by loving hand.
Though my heart très hopeful was,
Jill left me for another man.

Marta-
On a post-date winter walk
Betwixt white drifts of snow,
Marta stops to ask; "What's wrong?"
(As if she thought I'd know)
Mica in the sidewalk glitters;
I am silent...

Home for summer!
Unanswered, all her letters.

Love Is Such A Roller Coaster Ride

Love Is Such A Roller Coaster Ride
Photo courtesy of I'm Priscilla and http://unsplash.com

Barb-
Grad student Barb,
Me, a dropout.
Why, foolish heart,
Why seek her out?
A candle holder, carved of wood
For Barb, my love to tell.
Love, once more unrequited.
E'en so, I wish her well.

Marilyn-
Musical Marilyn fell for me.
One Magic Kingdom coaster ride,
Marilyn seemed so wild and free.
Suite: Judy Blue Eyes
now remembered,
she shared with me one fine December.
Back to Calvin, Southern beau.
Her farewell kiss still lingers,
her lips in mem'ry I still know.

Pam-
Fond reminiscing,
Now completed.
Decades later,
Daily greeted,
Pam's the one
I truly needed.



~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

Uh Yeah,
I don't think Deb would like a rendition of, 'For All the Girls I've Loved Before'
Nope, I think it's safe to say she absolutely hates that song LOL!!

Ah, but she now holds the crowning place, right? ;) :)

As does my Pam with me. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80