"Bittersweet Glimpses" - An Original PoemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Memory Snapshots of The Lost Loves of My Early Life...

All Pretty Maids In A Row

All Pretty Maids In A Row
Photo courtesy of Greg Rakozy and http://unsplash.com


Bittersweet Glimpses

Gail-
    Kindergarten
    Girlfriend One.
    Pigtailed,
    Gap-toothed,
    So much fun!

Jeanette-
    My freckled tomboy daydream,
    First love, unrequited...
    Where is Jeanette now?
    A lifetime since last sighted.

Becky-
    Blond preacher's girl,
    We strolled the beach
    Toward Sandy Point,
    One hand in each.
    Love, short and sweet,
    Now beyond reach.

Sharon-
    A cycle ride into the hills,
    Her arms surround me;
    Simple thrills!
    My arm around her,
    Guavas sweet.
    Plans: cast away,
    Dreams: incomplete.

Going For A Ride

Going For A Ride
Photo courtesy of Abigail Keenan and http://unsplash.com

Anita-
    Fellow student, B.B.C.
    On a banquet date with me.
    It went no further;
    Worlds apart!
    Different cultures,
    No way to start.

Jill-
    Chicago date;
    See giant screen!
    Her hand in mine,
    Hear Lara's theme.
    Tiny walnut jewelry box,
    Formed with care by loving hand.
    Though my heart très hopeful was,
    Jill left me for another man.

Marta-
    On a post-date winter walk
    Betwixt white drifts of snow,
    Marta stops to ask; "What's wrong?"
    (As if she thought I'd know)
    Mica in the sidwalk glitters;
    I am silent...
    Home for summer!
    Unanswered, all her letters.

Barb-
    Grad student Barb,
    Me, a dropout.
    Why, foolish heart,
    Why seek her out?
    A candle holder, carved of wood
    For Barb, my love to tell.
    Love, once more unrequited.
    E'en so, I wish her well.

Pam-
    Fond reminiscing,
    Now completed.
    Decades later,
    Daily greeted,
    Pam's the one
    I truly needed.


For a topical index to many of my other interesting articles, CLICK HERE


Did you enjoy this post?

Follow me, I'm @creatr

bluebutton

Sort:  

just saw this one - it's funny how the film medium - Rock Hudson to Omar Sharif
sums up a stage of life. I dwelt in a Zhivago world for five years. I studied Slavics, became expert on Pasternak's poetry and immersed myself in that culture.And no, I never emulated Rock Hudson, although I was a teacher LOL

Wow, I just broke 60 in Reputation...

THANKS to ALL my readers and followers! ;) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65