Running (original poem and short story)

in #poetry7 years ago

runningaway.jpg

I am running.

Echo's of my footsteps,
Reverberating off the dead pavement.

Cursed with the stain of spilt blood and broken dreams.

When I am falling,

God speaks to my soul,

Through hieroglyphs and symbols.

Communicating knowledge to uplift me.

This highness penetrating the lowness so that there is balance.

But this knowledge is not enough.

Because still the lowness of the deadness drowns me in the sorrow of dark dreams.

....And still I am running...

I am running from monsters I have created that stock me in the night land of my dreams.

I am running from the demons in my mind.

I run onward for eternity; never ceasing.

The blindfold never lifting.

I run until there is no life left in me to run with.

Until I am forced by exasperation to turn around, and face my demons.

The veil of illusion lifts with the placing of my crown.

Man = thinker.

Knowledge = destiny.

Ignorance = slavery.


Image-credit

@Co loured-content initiates new perspective and expands minds.

We are the next evolutionary step to media content.

Instead of a black and white news service; we serve you colourful content that makes you think and question what is real, true, or accepted.

Currently, we are struggling to create a viable content service of extra-ordinary design. We feel we can provide real value, but we need funding for website development and marketing / advertisement.

Can you help us?

For less then the price of a small coffee , you can donate to our mission.

You can read about our mission in more detail here ,

and donate here ,

OR

(what is probably better)

Donate via the following crypto currencies:

Donate bitcoin:

1M7tMEQTwoB24g9iyFYyc9LFHTpkx2m3t2

Donate STEEM:

8826f98dee4fd50d

Donate Monero:

13ee2d80565e5cdff679ef7b21f2ede7dad1168dc8d92761cc5c19cbf3a20b6f

Donate Zcash:

t1gFGa5BuG2uc83evRD9pvYt6CiSvX3bKa3

We also significantly appreciate it when our content is shared - as it shows we are making an impact on changing how people think.

Sort:  

Nice poem, and thank you for your give. Nice ! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hey there, a couple questions--is the drawing yours? And would you mind my putting it in a milestone post I'm doing if so?
This post I'm trying to keep less wordy, more pictures plus links with the names :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81