xiii days of poems // DAY 1 // my heart is a garden

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

hey steemit.

Like most humans, I have a deep seeded fear of being vulnerable and sharing my art. It's frustrating to hide behind walls you watched yourself build. BUT I'm challenging myself to let my guard and be vulnerable.

How? Everyday for the next 13 days I will share a new poem with you <3

20170815_090550.jpg

my heart is a garden

I am the gardener
tending soil, pruning plants,
praising pollinators, soaking in poetry

my heart is a garden

I feed it with love and kindness
from the first laughter of daffodils
to the last spray of coyote bush

from the endless blooms of summer
to the cedar smell of winter
my garden heart feeds me

I let my heart garden grow wild
learning how to love from the land and the gentle cultures of those who came before me

my heart is a garden

I am a seed I am a flower I am compost I am beautiful I stink - I am here
tending my heart garden

I let the light in
light that comes from breaking
open - again and again

my heart shaped garden

seed with love; sprout; growth; bud; flower; fruit; harvest; compost
shower with sun beams, sky tears, moon glow

my heart shaped garden
ever evolving - feeding my soul

once a monoculture, a briar patch
once too rainy a spring, too hot a summer, too far a fall - a charred desert, deserted in winter

my heart shaped garden
breaking - open

now a permaculture landscape
inviting friends and family, old and new
inviting love in all forms - in all seasons

my heart is a garden


20170629_085929.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @cocobrooks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65