Icarus

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

You cautioned that the sand would burn my feet.
You cautioned that the sun would burn my back.
But I wanted freedom anyway.
The fusion sphere descending the crimson horizon
taints a repeating sea foamy with unseized risks.
Memories charge across the darkening beachhead,
establishing groundwork from which the sprawling trenches
of things that could have been
are dug,
then washed to sea.
I made sure to skip cracks in the sidewalk.
I made sure to pray before lying down to sleep,
though concern didn’t burden my famished mind.
I would grip the sun.
I would coerce the spotlight.
I would be everything they expected me to be.
But projections haven’t happened.
And though you cautioned,
I let the sand burn my feet.
And though you cautioned,
I let the sun burn my back
because my most celebrated possession
is independence.


*****I write poetry! (But doesn't everybody?) I thought I'd post some. You're looking for original content, eh? This is a poem that I pulled from a short book that I digitally published a while ago. And sold like five copies off. It received glowing reviews from two of those five people! That's a decent percentage. (on some planet) If this poem gets enough upvotes, then I will know that I have found an audience here on SteemIt! I will post a link to the book itself, freely available to download from the link. No DRM or any of that jazz. But I need upvotes to know I should post it. So let's see if y'all want more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30