A BOYS DREAM OF FISH

in #poetry6 years ago

https://pixabay.com/en/boy-fishing-patience-little-boy-205266/
A BOYS DREAM OF FISH

This poem was composed while contemplating three small red fish anciently set upon a canyon wall above a stream where the Anasazi once lived.

As a boy,
I dreamt of fish.

While I slept
Rainbows, browns and brookies swam
In deep swirling pools
Beneath grassy banks
In the stream
In the meadow
By my mountain home.

In the morning,
Mists still curling over dreamt of pools,
I pursued them
A wild, sun-browned boy
Made pure again
By long golden summer days.

I pulled them out of their finny lairs
The sparkled treasure of life and glittering stars
Caught in my hands.

I brought my catch home
For mothers' praise
Who on occasion would know the sacredness of those moments
And take a picture
Of me, the fish, and my dancing dog.

So, you see, I know
The forgotten boy we dimly glimpse
Slipping through sun flecked willows
Deep within this hidden canyon
Seeking the fish of his dreams.

I see him bring his catch here
To his mother
Beneath this ancient sheltering ledge,
And she, dipping reed
In a pot of red earth and crushed berries
Strokes three fish on the rock overhead
Hoping we would remember
Always
The fish that swim deeply
In boys' dreams.

Sort:  

Magnificent poem. So simple in its description and yet full of powerful imagery, taking the reader close up to the persona through this journey.

Well, thank you. Sorry I did not catch your comment until today. I was rather green at the time but am picking up the routine now. Many blessings. Glad you enjoyed. This actually happened of course.

Oh, and by the way I've closed that blog and opened another instead: @mistermercury. Thanks. Lots more to follow.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I love this postshare_image_1518049448879.gif

Congratulations human, this poem is featured in this week's Muxxybot poetry curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-poetry-curation-16

This absolutely beautiful. Your style reminds of my own while remaining wholly and constructively unique. You've earned yourself a follower

Thank you for the encouraging comment. Sorry I did not spot your comment until today. I'm still learning the routine here. Rather new at all of this. Much more to follow.

Oh, and by the way I've closed that blog and have opened another @mistermercury. Thanks. Lots more good stuff on the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67015.44
ETH 3247.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64