The State of the Truth - Please Read my Original Poem

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

This is the state of the Truth.


farmto table (24).jpg

Something True


One day a simple man decided to say something true.
With all the wind and noise he didn't know what else to do,
He bade his friends and family well and left out of the blue;
He knew there was no going back from saying something true.

He took it to the paper but they told him he was wrong.
He knew he should've played guitar and sang it in a song.
They laughed him out the office and said, "Boy, you got no clue,
We can't agree, here, you and me, 'cause we decide what's true."

He wandered to the AM station miles down the way.
"I need to say the truth" he said, "and if you want I'll pay."
"We don't need your money, son, now if you'll please excuse
My colleagues and myself right now, we must report the news."

He put it on the internet, but trolls just made it fade,
Twisting and confusing all the claims that he had made;
The simple truth was so uncouth, the man was called a liar,
But knowing best, he could not rest; could not afford to tire.

He took it to the Congress, and he tried to raise a vote,
But no one had the time to hear the motions that he wrote.
Instead of open minds they welcomed him with pepper spray
And left him bruised and broken by the Capitol's doorway.

He roamed around and never found an outlet for his truth,
Until the words were just as lost and faded as his youth.
He settled down on solid ground to start his life anew,
Losing sight of all that's right, and most of what is true.


Don't let go of the Truth. It may not fit anymore, but it's still there, and just as true as ever. Live the Truth. Be the Truth. Share the Truth; it's the most important thing you can share!




Sort:  

A lot of TRUTH in that! May I personalize that last line...? LOL!
Said "Fuck you all"I shall not stall from speaking what is true.

Sorry, I just can't seem to find that "give up" button. ;)

I'm totally with you ;)

But alas, this is a sadder story that needed to be told.
Thanks!

This is very deep!!! It all summarizes to "BE THE TRUTH". Great job @chrisroberts

Absolutely. I think we're all called to embody the Truth. Now more than ever.
Thanks for stopping by; I appreciate your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69