You and I

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

love-163690__480.jpg
Source

To answer or to ignore
Your voice in my head
Calling and whispering sweet nothings
When the sun is yet to grace the sky
And the birds are resting
Waiting for dawn before they take flight
In light I know it’s you
In darkness I recognise your strength
You’ve become a part of who I am
That piece of me I wouldn’t want to lose

I toss and turn in my sleep
My arms reaching out in search of you
You becloud my senses
With thoughts of who you were
And of the person you’ve become
Even in my dreams I long for you
To be quietened only by your strong arms
Draped gently over my breasts
Holding and soothing
Willing me back to sleep

It’s like a fantasy
A story passed down in time
Not of a young maiden and her prince charming
Nor of a slave and her fairly god mother
But of a young lad and a treasure
Which he guards day and night
Never daring to leave its side
Only to discover it belongs to a young lass
One he will lose his heart to forever
One whose enchantment nothing can break

I’m yours in life as in death
Only your love tempers my wildness
You come to me like a music
A tune so melodious it lures to sleep
And your bright smile
That grin so beautiful it shames the sun
I choose to answer your call
With quiet whispers of my own
Let this love take me beyond
I’m satisfied so long as you are with me


Liked this one? Tell me your thoughts.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77