Silence

in #poetry5 years ago

park-3116883__480.jpg


When you look into a room
And see a man, woman, and child
Sitting alone, unmoving,
Heads bent in private thoughts
Or a personal chaos, maybe.
They barley notice your presence,
The things you wish to say,
The gestures you make.

I would ask what you think.
The first thing that came to you,
Standing and looking at them,
Wondering what they’re on about.
But I wouldn’t, no.
I’d rather you figure it out yourself.
Your conclusion doesn’t matter,
Whether right or wrong.

That’s because I understand the reason
They prefer their own company to yours.
There’s so much difference
Between you and them.
Even nature understands better than you do.
The wind knows when to hold still,
The ocean knows when to be free of waves,
The birds know when to stop chirping.

You call it solitude, I call it peace.
I used to be ashamed of it,
Hiding behind shyness,
Lying to myself and the world.
But they thought me well.
With their smirks and judgy tones
They helped me find myself.
And now, all I ever want is silence.


Image source

Sort:  

You seem to be using older version of eSteem!
Please update to newest version to get most out of eSteem, Install Android, iOS mobile app. For desktop Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Your post has been featured on @wafrica

Courtesy od @nmalove

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78