Nothingness (Not)

in #poetry6 years ago

Fathers' Day was two days ago and I kind of ignored it. I refused to pay attention. I did it intentionally anyway. My dad passed in June, 2016 – two years ago. Been thinking a lot about him, so I just jumped and passed all Fathers' Day posts on Steemit and Facebook. Anyway, today I managed to scribble a few lines of poem.

man-863085__480.jpg
Source


Here:

In Life
Baby, that’s what you call me
The first thing you say as you lay eyes on me
Everyday, I stand by the door
Waiting for you to come home
Watching for that beautiful smile on your face
Because it’s the one thing I always wish for
The only thing that keeps me sane and focused

In Illness
The light never leaves your eyes
Even in the weakest of moments
I look at you and I see hope
I hold onto it when everything is gone
I forget how much I dislike hospitals
Watching the tubes and your chest rise and fall
I hold your hands and will everything away

In death
It’s okay to cry and rant, they say to me
I pick up the phone and listen till I understand no more
I never object to the hugs and heartfelt wishes
Somehow I know they are bound to come
Why did you leave? I ask myself
Maybe it’s time, a voice answers in my head
I don’t want to believe it but it’s the only reasonable answer

After Dark
I miss you terribly
I think about you all the time
Two years is enough to heal, some may say
Maybe they are right after all
I think of you without pain and tears
But with smiles and fond memories
Wherever you may be, I know it’s what you want for me


Thanks for stopping by!
What are your thoughts?

Sort:  

Get a free Bible for your phone, tablet, and computer. bible.com

All the feels on this poem :(

Wow, these are beautiful words Viv. Dad would be proud of the lady you've become. Stay strong.

This gave me chills... I can feel each word as authentic pain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81