Listen

in #poetry5 years ago

discussion-2822066__480.jpg

Let me tell you a story,
About things and places,
About life and people.
This story isn’t related to me.
There was a time it was,
A time I lived and smelled it,
I knew no other way,
It was my life and I loved it.

Maybe I should tell you about it.
Those things that made me.
Little events that shaped
This person you see everyday.
But I’m not sure you want to hear them.
You may think you do,
You may even believe it,
But they aren’t for your ears.

I was going to tell you a story, yes.
You see, people live and people die,
But I’m sure you know this already.
Pardon me, I needed to tell you again,
To make you understand
This life we live.
We believe we choose but that’s a lie.
This life picked us.

You want to disagree, I know.
Tell me, how do you explain
The loss of a child to a mother?
I’m sure she’ll have words to say to you.
How do you explain
The death of a loved one?
I’m sure the family have things to talk to you about.
Things you don’t wish to hear.

You stay up day and night
Fixing things you didn’t start.
You curse and you mumble,
Wishing there’s a way around it.
You want to choose differently,
To live a another life even.
But you cannot because, you see,
You get picked and you can’t help it.

Image Source

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

This is simply beautiful and deep. Well done, Vivian.

Thank you, Ghandi.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hit all my nerves! Who are you!!!

Nice to meet you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69113.16
ETH 3747.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67