Liberated

in #poetry6 years ago

c1de34153b91c6e6402bfed66eabc80343688fe3.jpg
Source

Hello, stranger.
Surprised I’m writing to you today?
I know,
I don’t understand it myself,
perhaps I need to get it all out.
Remember the day I met you?
I was sitting on a beach,
legs buried deep into the soil,
hair flying around my face,
away from the world, away from distractions.

Solitude, the say.
I love the stillness of it,
at least I used to,
till you walked up to me,
smiling down with amusement.
I was confused at first,
because they all walked away
while blaming me for it.
But you stayed, though I wanted you gone,
and you talked, though I wasn't listening.

I refused to think about that day.
For a long time I tried to forget
why I wanted everything gone.
I recall your alarmed look at the stones,
I had filled my pockets with them,
waiting for the waves to come.
You had sat there beside me,
long legs outstretched in front of you.
I didn't understand the gesture until later.
You never wanted me to jump.

You saved me from myself,
and from those ugly demons
threatening to swallow me alive.
You held my hand when they reared their heads
day after day.
I waited for your judgement but it didn’t come.
I stopped fighting them alone,
because you were there.
You showed me the bright side,
and encouraged my baby steps.

Hello, my love.
I’m back on the beach,
neither sitting nor leaving my hair untamed.
Today, I’m standing and staring at the waves,
wishing you had lived a while longer.
Not with sadness or pain,
but with love and happiness.
You gave me hope, you taught me to give back.
I'm going to live the rest of my days remembering,
because it's the right thing to do.

This is a free versed poetry about love, life and hope.
Tell me your thoughts.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80