Empty

in #poetry5 years ago

live-3104077__480.jpg


I have failed myself
I have failed my family
I have failed my loved ones
I have failed life
I have nothing left to live for


The first thing I see
Is a face peering down at me.
One face, two faces, maybe three.
They first look before they smile,
Before they tickle me.
I think they like my laughter.
I’m not sure but their faces change
Whenever I refuse to laugh,
Before they scoop me up,
Patting my freshly powdered behind.
It doesn’t matter that I just emptied my bladder.

The second thing I see
Is my uneven limbs,
Struggling to stand and take a step.
The faces are around me,
Clapping and cheering.
I giggle before I plowed back down
On the hard floor,
My legs tingling,
My arms sweaty.
They hoot and call me a champ.
I ignore them and frown at my bruised toe.

The third thing I see
Is blood on my dress.
I knew it would come,
Mother told me about it.
She also told me what will happen
If a boy touches me.
I want to play like I used to.
To run around naked and under the rain.
But my chest is getting big
And boys are staring at me.
I have to cover myself more.

The fourth thing I see
Is a child on my arms.
Happy faces making merry,
Old men cracking unfunny jokes.
Like a déjà vu it comes back,
The cheers when I took my first step,
The screams when I said my first word.
I look down at the little one
With a face so serene
And wonder if I’ll find peace.
I already glimpsed what it’s like.

The fifth thing I see
Is blood on my hands.
Not from my sign of womanhood,
Nor from my broken Innocence.
I have gone against everything I was thought.
A woman’s body belongs to her husband, they say.
It doesn’t matter if there’re bruises and pain,
Or if I’m being taken against my will.
I made my body mine
And I ended a life.
There’s nothing left for me.


I have failed life
I have failed mother nature
I have failed love
I have failed the creator
I have nowhere to go


Image Source

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

beautiful...

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @niallon11.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77