Culture

in #poetry5 years ago

incense-1961430__480.jpg


I want to tell you stories
About my life and things I’ve seen.
About people and places I’ve been.
I have a lot to tell.
Tales both beautiful and ugly.
Would you like to hear
The things I did in my youth,
Little actions I secretly regret.
Or the ones I do in my old age,
Those I don’t intend to give up.

I want to tell you about children,
Little humans running around naked,
Hiding behind trees pointing at strangers.
Girls with firewood on their heads,
Boys with hoes on their shoulders.
Would you like to hear
How they peep at adults
While they take a bath,
Or how they roam the streets after rain,
Catching and frying termites.

I want to tell you about women
Living in service to their husbands.
Smoke puffing from their kitchen,
Trays balanced on their heads,
Hips swinging in rhythm.
Would you like to hear
How they make an innocent person
Confess to killing her husband,
Or how they go round the village
Stripping her naked and screaming shame.

I want to tell you about men,
Sitting and laughing at unfunny jokes,
Smoking pipes with stained teeth.
The oldest breaking colanut,
The youngest serving palm wine.
Would you like to hear
How they touch their daughters
And make a man blind with juju,
Or how they beat their wives
And take from her while she sobs.

I want to tell you about a people,
Accepting a certain way of life.
Generations go by them
As they hold on to nothing,
Wallowing in accepted ignorance,
Would you like to hear
How they murder
Whoever that throws a challenge,
Or how they close their eyes
While their children suffer.


Image source

Sort:  

You seem to be using older version of eSteem!
Please update to newest version to get most out of eSteem, Install Android, iOS mobile app. For desktop Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Such a beautiful story. From the beginning I was drawn in. The way you swiftly yet precisely describe and illustrate a whole world of beauty and suffering has an immense sense of intimacy and warmth to it. You've done a splendid job! Well done!

Thank you. Much appreciated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91