@Work Depression Poem

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

When I’m at work I get this unbearable feeling
It’s really not that appealing
It lasts from the time I’m awake,
Until I’m at home by the lake

Terribly sad thoughts that I can’t get rid,
All of this shit just for a few measly quid
I don’t know why I put myself through,
Surely I can find something else to do

So I took a day off and went to the doc,
Thought I might be a laughing stock
Turns out its quite common,
To feel a bit solemn

He said “take two of these twice a day”
“That should help keep it at bay”
I replied "okay doc, I’ll give it a try”
“Thanks for your help and goodbye.”

Three months have passed and I still feel this way
Everyday the same , groundhog day.
So I think it’s time , I've had enough
I give up, I’m not so tough.

Picture drawn by me @chickenburger

Sort:  

I feel ya. This is something I think about daily. I weigh my options and just go back to work. I'm too afraid of the alternative.

Yes I'm afraid we just have to suck it up and get on with it.

Time to get a better doctor and stronger pills maybe?
Nice drawing @chickenburger!

If he gave me 6 correct lotto numbers that would work I think.
Thanks @friendly-fenix

Yeah, you have a point, people often avoid to see the apparent connection in between financial difficulties and depression...

Life is still depressing but money can certainly help.

You capture the feeling so well chickenburger!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69