@Mums spaghetti

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

At home with my mum on a rare day off,
Helping her bring things down from the loft
Once the voluntary work is complete,
Its back downstairs ready to eat.
Hollow stomach, feet up and drooling like a saint Bernard on the settee,
While my mum brings me a plate of her heavenly spaghetti.

Carrots, onion, garlic all chopped and fried,
Broken up mincemeat, Worcestershire sauce and bay leaf,
Taste magnified.
Tomato puree, salt and pepper,
As a base, does wonders together.

All that’s left is boiling the pasta,
And of course, my mums secret tomato sauce.

If you say please,
She may just sprinkle some parmesan cheese.
And if you still feel like you haven’t been fed,
Perhaps try with some garlic bread.

Now if you are anything like my mum,
Then here is a bit of advice for some,
When boiling water for the pasta,
Try adding some olive oil and salt
It really isn’t that tricky,
And will help prevent from being sticky.

Bon Appetit!

Picture drawn by me @chickenburger

Sort:  

Great poem and drawing, I love spaghetti too.

Thanks, its my favourite.

Awesome content!
You got a Resteem and a 11.11% upvote from @cleansingpoetry courtesy of @angelveselinov!

Send 0.05 SBD / Steem to place your bid and get an Upvote and Resteem.

This service is provided by Steemit @poetsunited Community.

Delegate to this Bot to get a share from the daily profits.
To delegate use 50SP 100SP 250SP 500SP 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62722.59
ETH 3111.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84