When I'm a good girl

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

When I'm the ‘good girl’
they don’t expect me to feel,
they don’t expect me to speak,
they don’t expect me to have expectations.
Because I’m not aggressive,
because I’m too nice,
because I don’t always have the best comebacks,
and I don’t always make the best first impressions,
because I'm shy
because I'm ‘cute,’
because I show everything
even when I try not to,
because no one likes sensitive people,
because I’m not chill.

When I'm the good girl
I don’t find love,
I only find heartbreak.
I don’t get what I want,
I just get rejected
because I don’t know how to ‘keep’ them,
I don’t want to play games
because I don’t have enough experience.
I don’t know how to be sexy,
because I seemed ‘naïve,’
because I'm somehow invisible.

When I'm the ‘good girl’
I’ll always be misunderstood,
I’ll be labeled ‘uncool,’ maybe ‘weird’
but never loved,
never given the attention I deserve,
never getting the ones I want
because I live in a society
that praises the bad and the bold,
the loud and obnoxious,
the ones who don’t like to sit in a corner.

When I'm the good girl
I get teased for it,
I’ often question it.
I even get blamed for it
and I might lose some people.
But when I'm the good girl
I learn to stop caring about what they think
or what they say
I don’t change myself to fit in
or change for someone else
I stay the same
because I may be the reason
someone believes in good girls again
and I may be the person
someone else is praying for.

When I'm the good girl,
don’t be bad for them,
let them be good for me.

Source: The thought catalogue

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39