An Ounce of Flesh

in #poetry6 years ago

concept-1313755_1280.jpg
"There is a newfound strength within me, though still fragile."

-Journal excerpt dated 6/12/87

The pain was hot, piercingly fresh
I was young and little did I know
it was only an ounce of tender flesh
of what it would take for me to grow.

For a broken heart has been with me
For longer than I care to admit
I am someone who loves deeply
And I love with no regrets.

But looking back I realize
the pain all had meaning
to make me strong, to idealize
these lessons learned in living.

And now I cherish my simple life
I appreciate the smallest things
Watching the sun traveling the sky
while hearing the bluebirds sing.

©2018 Linda Lee Lyberg

Sort:  

I loved it, if we all thought that way, the world would be different!
Greetings from Venezuela!

Congratulations @charmedchaos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59