A Letter to CHILD, from EGO

in #poetry6 years ago

1*m6LmYAJfcxo2zuYVIXwGdQ.jpgDear Child, it’s time to grow up.
You can’t keep waking in your own throw-up.
Get a job.
Stop being a slob.
Stop dreaming.
Open your eyes.
Look at what’s right in front of you,
forget what is up in the skies.
Love,
Ego

1*2hAV3-iS9YwWgFuULh5ULA.jpg
Dear Ego,
You always tell me lies.
You tell me not to dream, but how can I not ,when I stare at beautiful crystal skies?
Because of you,
I have spent so many years hiding,
Because of you,
Charles has gone countless days without smiling.
I don’t claim to know what’s best,
but give the poor man a rest.
Love,
Child

1*Ut7NAquvDOS6XFtsLHIeiQ.jpg
Dear Child,
I never knew you could write.
But the real question is: can you fight?
I am always there for Charles when it gets too much to bear.
I am always there for him whenever he feels his heart tear.
But you don’t care.
You just want to run around in a sunlit field somewhere.
I appreciate your concern,
but when will you learn,
I am the only one that protect his soul from the burn.
Love,
Ego

1*psEahtfyyNtkNyE8a3cprQ.jpg
Dear Ego,
Your lessons are old.
Sometimes you can just be so goddamn cold.
How many friendships have you allowed to unravel & unfold?
I’m sorry but this time you have just gone way to far,
Your remedy for Charles is to give other people scars.
This earth is burning up,
and I’m taking Charles with me to mars.
Love,
Child

©2017 Charles Harry Mackenzie. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

I like the way you presented this piece. The poetic dialog puts the reader inside the head of the subject, and it makes for an interesting read. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you! I'm glad to hear that and I appreciate you taking the time.

I like it, very reminiscent of the screw tape letters. The dialogue is very provoking and on point. Thank you for sharing. I would to hear you thoughts on my work.

Oh wow, that's so weird. This poem is actually quite an old one, but recently - as in right now - I am actually reading the screw ape letters!
Thanks. I'll be sure to check out your work now.

Let me know how you like the book and if you see the similarities. So cool.

Congratulations @charlesmackenzie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @charlesmackenzie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @charlesmackenzie to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05