Hate doesn't care about you.

in #poetry7 years ago


Today I walked the road
Not at all concerned where it may go
I wandered here and I wandered there
Free to think and free to look

I paused and considered
Then my journey continued on
I combined this and that
Enjoying the act of creation

I waved to my neighbors
and they nodded back
I shook my finger at a child
stopping the sneak in their tracks

The sun rose, the sun fell
The moon sailed through the sky
The seasons came, the seasons went
People mostly were happy and content

Then something happened
Like poison in the well
A box in every house and structure
It began to speak

It began to tell us about hate
It taught hatred to the meek
That it seems was the goal
To control the mind and manipulate the soul

Leaves would fall as they sometimes do
Yet hatred and doubt now had a home
Would those leaves return the question loomed
The poison of the mind growing and darkening its path

Hatred grew and writhed in corners within our minds
Yet in those unhallowed halls it would not stay
Soon the mind fueled by hate would change that walk of the day
For now the walk would lead us along dark shadowed paths

We would seek evil in every corner our hate could perceive
We would point fingers at every imagined demon seed
We would feel virtuous as we struck down evil
Our triumphant chants, drums, and megaphones mark the way

Blindly walking over victims of our new hatred play
Blind to kindness, love, and good will
It is only to hatred that we now give way
An addiction to our poison, hate will find a way

Yet sad is the reality of this evil thine
For hatred doesn't care about you
It does not care about me
It just looks for more upon which to feed

Sort:  

Verse's to make you think.. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67