My other side

in #poetry6 years ago

FB_IMG_1524786167514.jpg

There I stood, with smiles fighting the edges of my lips,
With a make-up that could make any man make up his mind on giving out his surname,
With an attitude that said "I don't owe shit to nobody",
I was as I had mastered to be, the light in the eyes of everyone who knew a good cover when they saw one, but he...
He looked beyond my highlighted mascara,
took hold of my massacred hopes, glared at the tears I left folded under my pillows,
Looked me in the eyes and asked, "why are you sad?"
I froze, felt my heaviest burden lifted and for the first time,
I was happy.
I was happy someone could see I was sad.

Sort:  

This is really nice

Nice poem, happy to be sad ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48