Discovering my inner poet: Inspired by Daniela Camacho's [Los nombres de lo definitivo (...)]

in #poetry7 years ago

Hello there my dear and precious Steeminians,

Today I want to share with you my very first poem in English.

It was inspired by Daniela Camacho's ---->Poem , which is really special to me, in the sense of what it conveys to reader.

Original poem is in Spanish and this is my sole inspiration of it in English. There are some elements missing (time, tumor and its branches through the body), but I focused on the mind and medicine as a cornerstone for the poem. Also, the religion (frankly, spirituality) is very present, I confess as a fan of Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz (if you don't know who she was, Wikipedia to the rescue.

So, here we go!

Fear rises as Joy persuades The Sickness to disappear

A piece of paper carries knowledge,
Obtained through the act of living
Life as a play has its End,
Mine ended shortly

Light as a feather, ethereal as a candle
Tempestuous as a storm,
Abandoned as a boat drifting on the open waves
Unstable as my mind

Emptiness is fulfilling,
It’s all that is left
After faith fades away

A neck is a human bridge reflecting land and sky,
It replicates the phenomenon from my head to my feet:
Dryness in my throat, tightness on my chest, shakiness in my hands
A sharp intake of breath attempts to restrain an apocalypse
But it encounters a gate through my eye
A sole tear is the sign of freedom

A constant movement is a cycle,
It repeats over and over since the Dawn of Time

Cycling as a wheel

The wheel is moving
Showing all of its axes
Feelings are the foundation:
Joy and Pain
Love and Hate
Health and Sickness,
When this will go away?

Men as part of Humankind
Progress through the work of their hands
Covered in blood
Building a skill, a craft,
A family, a civilization
From scratch

Lying on the table as I am something to build,
To improve, to change
A mundane activity for those with academical hands

Define the time frame of a routine
An instant can be eternal
As Life as Death

Time passes as a heart beats,
It depends solely in which heart you are listening to
I wonder when I will wake up from Sickness
And rise again for Faith

Personally, I want to thank to my dear English friend, who is a lover of grammar and poetry, who helped me to find the most accurate expressions as "Dawn of time" <--->"Tiempos inmemoriales", and many others. Also, to my Dad who helped me with commas, this is a New World. I'm open to suggestions, references, etc I'm here and in any place frankly, to learn. Writing, Poetry and language themselves are Art , and I'm very glad to dedicate my time to improve in things that I love. Thank you!

Hope you enjoy and if you did please give me an Upvote and Resteem! :D <3

Reference:

Gifs :

  1. Hellou there
  2. That's all

Sort:  

Thank you! I really appreciate it! <3
Have a good day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53