You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "As He Demurs" (poem/article) >>> Toxic Masculinity ... or Ideological Hyperbole?

in #poetry6 years ago

So many many things in this post worthy of discussion! I'm with you on the paradox of men in the military and their reputation for reckless behavior. Top Guns and sexual harassment is one news item that comes to mind when you point out the obvious (yet it eludes a certain kind of moral majority, and I don't mean the 1980s church version):
It is that same dare-devilry and dismissal of risk that drives the exploration of the unknown, inspires invention and fuels the entrepreneurial spirit. It is the same assertiveness and aggression that causes playground brawls that drives males to protect women and children, even at the expense of their lives.
Do you write fiction...? If not, do you want to co-author some? :)

Sort:  

@carolkean,

I'm toying with the idea. If I thought I could get through to a publisher, I've got about a half-dozen novels in my head. As you learn on Steemit though, it is damnably difficult to get the attention of "curators" in the first place. Curie has never even glanced at me. Steemit is but a microcosm of the real world. The Gatekeepers do not gladly permit entry.

Here's a bit in novel form:

https://steemit.com/writing/@quillfire/exquisite-corpse-a-perfect-day-for-a-murder-chapter-6

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43