You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Two Beats (poem) ... a Tribute to Mothers of Fallen Soldiers

in #poetry6 years ago

an emotional rendition, certainly a poem delicately crafted to pluck heartstrings, @quillfire.

your use of alliteration to carry the sound through rhythm, especially in your first two stanzas, was quite deftly done, and the word play and philosophic exploration of the threads that connect us to those we love in both life and death certainly take it from there.

the poem made me double back and read the last paragraph of your introduction again - the 'me' becoming 'we' a concept seemingly bridging the cycle between birth, in family, in friends, in love and in death.

you do all of this a quite but resolute justice in 'Two Beats', @quillfire, well crafted.

Sort:  

@carmalain7,

My apologies for the late reply ... I wasn't checking my expired posts.

Anyway, thanks for your insightful and detailed analysis. This poem is one of the special ones as it is auto-biographical. It's been over 25 years, and yet I can recall the incident like it happened yesterday. For me, the introduction is as impactful as the poem itself. Being remembered ... it's our only guaranteed life after death, and I sense that the drive to do so, be remembered, lies deep within us all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73