"Pretty Bird" | An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago


Pretty Bird

An Original Poem by @CarlieEster

You called me a nightingale, and asked me to sing
I gave you my voice then you gave me an iron cage to live in.
I said that I wanted a flower bed so I could count to a thousand in colour, so I could sleep in seasons under a full bloom
You grew me a garden of thorns.
I said, let’s build a castle of glass in the sky, so when the sun comes up it makes rainbows in our eyes and
You gathered stones to throw.
I begged for a view of the trees so I could see myself in better days, where I could imagine my path in different ways
You said my choice was made.
You said I was too skinny but you gave me nothing to eat.
You said I was singing out of key but you trapped me between bars.
You called me ugly bird but you drained the colour from my eyes.
You locked me in an iron cage when I asked you to let me fly.
You called me a nightingale, and asked me to sing for you,

Darling

The only song I have left in me is a requiem.

Thank you for reading.

Image used is a commercially licensed stock photo from pexels.com


@CarlieEster is a Writer, Radio DJ, Runner, full time mother and wife, from the island of Barbados.

Sort:  

Very well written

It's so sad when you are a prisoner of love.
A fellow poet here, do check out my blog of poems

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52