"My Dragon Sleeps" | An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago


My Dragon Sleeps

An Original Poem by @CarlieEster

how could you not notice me

when the smoke clears from our eyes
and we’re both deprived of air
but mesmerised by shadows moving through the Os you blow,
slowly echoing from your lips in trios,
this world is void of colour, my heart is hollow,
this trip is giving me goosebumps like a griot whispering what’s to come,
what’s to come from this, indeed, what good will come of this?
how could you not notice me.

when my dragon stirs under my skin
like the secrets that eat me thin like worms in my mind that won’t let me think,
far less the stars in my eyes refusing to blink,
this weight’s on my shoulders asking me to sink, to sink down...
light up, light up and your load will be great,
your load like a crown on your head begging you to wait...
just one more day and maybe
you will notice me

when my dragon erupts,
when my dragon throws up lava from his stomach,
and fire spouts from his mouth in one great shout,
how could you not notice me when my skin is so green and my eyes are so white,
how could you not notice me when i stalk you by night
just to see those Os you blow from your lips,
give my dragon one little kiss and send him to sleep for a century,
he will sleep soundly, smoking inside me with your voice like a lullaby
to a reptile so sullen by the thought

that you did not notice me.

Thank you for reading.

Image used is a commercially licensed stock photo from pexels.com


@CarlieEster is a Writer, Radio DJ, Runner, full time mother and wife, from the island of Barbados.

Sort:  

I enjoy poetry much more now thanks

You have great talent. Keep stemming! Followed

Great job, thanks for sharing! Just getting to Steemit today and very excited about it, happy to see so much talent. Keep up the good work.

Thanks, I'll try to keep it up! x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65231.23
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48