"My Dark Passenger" | An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago


My Dark Passenger

An Original Poem by @CarlieEster

My dark passenger flies over me
Casting shadows in my steps
Like a vulture in circle
Thirsty and hungry for my memories
The wait is finite
As life only breathes for so long until the stillness
Of death comes to an ebb
Like a drowning man casting ripples in a pond
Soon the water stands still with forgetting.
My dark passenger is watching me until such time
As all the breath is sucked from my lungs and fluid seeps
Into every open orifice
And I lie still
Don't blame me
Blame the paranoia of my passenger circling me
With giggles of a hyena and the everlasting thirst of a shark
Gasping for its last breath ashore
Unable to live unless it's surrounded by a body of water
At any moment my dark passenger may catch me.

Thank you for reading.

Image used is a commercially licensed stock photo from pexels.com


@CarlieEster is a Writer, Radio DJ, Runner, full time mother and wife, from the island of Barbados.

Sort:  

It took me to a place I once used to be... thanks for sharing.

That is profound, thank you.

:D thanks so much :D

Very cool and deep...reminds me of the first couple of seasons of Dexter (and his Dark Passenger)...after that, the show lost its edge IMHO.

This is beautiful - took me to a real place

Congratulations @carlieester! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60633.78
ETH 3383.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52