"Icarus" | An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago


Icarus

An Original Poem by @CarlieEster

Shooting through the stars
Beneath my toes are scattered shards
Of yellowed glass,
Their pictures painted far too fast
Their colours run
Pointing to a narrow past
Before I lift off before I take
A step I know the past is yet
To come the past is yet to come

Hinting at a yellow sun
This cosmic grace this glancing
Back to tap the compass
Test your wits with navigation
Who cares which way is up or down
Your map is in your eyes
And all I see is yellow glass
Crashing to the desert sand
While cactus holding out their hands
Praying for a falling god this
Step I take off before I step
I know the past is yet to come

Let me tie your wings on tighter
Let me make your shoulders lighter
Let me make your smile shine brighter
No, I will show you off above the sun
Fly me higher than the sun

And all I see is yellow shards of glass
As you float past
Time slows down and catches up
As you fall down into the desert sand
Into prickly outstretched hands
And with one crash
The sun will close his eyes while Icarus dances on a yellow sky.

Thank you for reading.

Image used is a commercially licensed stock photo from pexels.com


@CarlieEster is a Writer, Radio DJ, Runner, full time mother and wife, from the island of Barbados.

Sort:  

Such a cute poem love it

Spectacular! This is awesome! I am so glad I found your stuff. Steemit is such a great place.
following you

Amazing Imagery @carlieester! 🎒

Thanks for contributing to the One Human Basket community!
I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44