"Come Inside My Box" | An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago


Come Inside My Box

An Original Poem by @CarlieEster

Come inside my box
I said to anyone who heard
It’s just a square, a wooden block
And rough around the edge
But inside’s so soft
Like velveteen, a ladies’ underskirt
(or her lacy hanker cloth)
I mean, it doesn’t hurt
Just come inside my box
I beg, don’t my eyes seduce you
Don’t mind the brandished locks
The shadows or the apple fruits
(It’s not a snake, a branch my dear)
My box is beckoning sweet
Perhaps you didn’t hear
I can repeat.
Come inside my box
It’s dreams and worms and love and bugs
Each day passes is another notch
Upon the post (did I say bugs?)
No, hugs
Upon the post that marks each lonely night
I pass alone quivering in fright as bats fly by
And screech their awful cry
While I lie trapped in a bed of smoke
Smoke clouds! Soft, gentle, fragile.
Bats like birds,beautiful humming birds
Hmm, hmm, their vibrations keep me up at night
While I count sheep and sleepily digress
Come inside my box
You won’t be let down
The sights! The sounds!
A carnival of merry going round
The laughs! The cheer!
My velveteen box has here.
All we’re missing is a king
Someone to sit upon the throne you know,
Wave a magic wand and make all the terrors go
Have some apple, I didn’t say a thing
Come inside my box, I’m waiting
All I have is dreams to keep me company
My thoughts
Rolling like old film
We could walk, the carnival I said
It’s here, it’s here, it’s not…
What about the stream that flows through the centre
Like a gushing river, it’s bright red, that’s normal
It’s the colour of love
Well things are different in my box.
Come inside my box, you’ll see,
Plenty space! We’ll walk beneath the sycamore tree
No, don’t eat that fruit, I recommend the apple
But inside my box you can’t be anything you want
Can be
Come inside my box, you’ll see.

Thank you for reading.

Image used is a commercially licensed stock photo from pexels.com


@CarlieEster is a Writer, Radio DJ, Runner, full time mother and wife, from the island of Barbados.

Sort:  

Lol dat title doe.

That is exactly what you think. She sounds like she wants to get pregnant.

Reminds me of the imaginary box in Spongebob Squarepants

Cheers!

nice poem;
thank you for sharing

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed...

Thanks for sharing. I really liked it. The verse and rhyme scheme is very engrossing. It made me curious and kept me reading.

puisi yg indah saya sangat menyentuh hati>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52