This Mountain Has No Summit - Killer Poetry Entry

in #poetry6 years ago

IMG_20170524_152935.jpg

This mountain has no summit
No peak in sight
There is no pause or respite
Only the hike

The air gets thinner
The further up you climb
The slope get steeper
Up the endless incline

Your whole body burns
And begs you to stop
But you keep on going onwards
With everything you've got

You might meet another hiker
And walk together for a time
Help keep each other going
Until your paths divide

You may slip and stumble
In the darkness lose your way
The rain may engulf you
And wash the path away

Still you climb onwards
The only way is up
There is no turning back
There is no giving up

The sunshine may find you
And shine upon your face
The gentle breeze may lift you
Lightening your pace

Then you surpass hikers
Who you knew came before
You think of all they reached
And see you can reach more

Sadness marks these miles
But joy lights up the path
You see those ahead of you
There is no turning back

This mountain has no summit
You cannot see the top
There is only the hike
Enjoy what you've got

My entry to this weeks killer poetry is inspired by the journey that is life, the point is the climb the mountain, not to get to the top. Photos by me taken while cloud walking on a mountain above Hells Mouth in wales. I love when the sky brushes the mountains and you can really touch the clouds!

IMG_20170524_154759.jpg

IMG_20170528_204908_691.jpg

Sort:  

Some great work here, Calluna. I really enjoyed:) And good luck in the contest:)

Congratulations on once again making our community a beautiful place. Today, mountains met me as I opened up the page. Very nice. Keep doing what you do.

Awww I think I know just what you mean. You are absolutely killing it! I really like this one, more than I like everyone I say I like :p

Lol thank you, I think :p The more I like things, the more I can hesitate to share them. I think I do prefer it with this as the opening verse, well chosen lol I may have to use your powers of selection more :)

Release the Kraken! You got a 21.82% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @johngreenfield!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68342.52
ETH 3806.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63